#### San Diego County Sheriff's Department Detention Services Bureau - Manual of Policies and Procedures

**DATE:** MARCH 7, 2022

NUMBER: A.3

**SUBJECT:** TABLE OF ORGANIZATION

**RELATED SECTIONS:** 

### **PURPOSE**

To establish and define organization of the Detention Services Bureau and the application of basic principles, including organization by function, unity of command, delineation of responsibility and delegation of authority.

#### **POLICY**

The Detention Services Bureau shall define a formal organizational structure with clearly defined and articulated components. The chain of command and the functional division of its components shall be compiled to be evidently perceived by all members of the Sheriff's Department.

## **PROCEDURE**

- I. Under the supervision of the Sheriff of San Diego County and the direct supervision of the undersheriff, the assistant sheriff in charge of the Detention Services Bureau is responsible and accountable for operating and maintaining all Sheriff's detention facilities/units.
- II. The Detention Services Bureau is comprised of three commands: Detentions Facilities, Detentions Operations and Detentions Support. Each area of command is administered by a Sheriff's commander.
  - A. Detentions Facilities is comprised of the following facilities/units:
    - 1. The East Mesa Reentry Facility (EMRF) is administered by a Sheriff's captain.
    - 2. The George Bailey Detention Facility (GBDF) is administered by a Sheriff's captain.
    - 3. The Las Colinas Detention and Reentry Facility (LCDRF) is administered by a Sheriff's captain.
    - 4. The San Diego Central Jail (SDCJ) is administered by a Sheriff's captain.
    - 5. The South Bay Detention Facility (SBDF) is administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
    - 6. The Vista Detention Facility (VDF) is administered by a Sheriff's captain.
  - B. Detentions Operations is comprised of the following facilities/units:
    - 1. The Detentions Investigations Unit (DIU) and Detentions Intelligence Group (DIG) are administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.

- 2. The Detentions Training Unit (DTU) is administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
- 3. The Medical Services Division (MSD) is administered by a Sheriff's captain.
- 4. The Sheriff's Transportation Unit (STU) is administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
- C. Detentions Support is comprised of the following facilities/units:
  - 1. The Detention Support Division (DSD) is administered by a Sheriff's captain. The division includes:
    - a. The Jail Information Management System (JIMS) Unit in administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
    - b. The Jail Population Management Unit (JPMU) is administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
    - c. The County Parole & Alternative Custody (CPAC) is administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
  - 2. The Detentions Processing Division (DPD) is administered by a detentions processing manager.
  - 3. The Food Services Division (FSD) is administered by a food services manager.
  - 4. The Reentry Services Division (RSD) is administered by a reentry manager. The division includes:
    - a. Counseling
    - b. Religious services
    - c. Incarcerated Person Welfare Fund
    - d. Laundry
    - e. Commissary
    - f. Central Warehouse
    - g. Vocational trades (CIVICS, Construction Trades, Culinary Arts, Sewing)
  - 5. The Rock Mountain Detention Facility (RMDF) is administered by a Sheriff's lieutenant.
- D. Each facility captain, lieutenant and unit manager/administrator are responsible for the efficient and effective daily operation of their assigned facilities/unit. Procedures for the efficient and effective daily operation of the facilities/unit shall be established, and periodically reviewed and modified to meet individual needs and legal mandates.

# III. ORGANIZATION CHART

The structure of the Detention Services Bureau is shown on the following organizational chart (<u>DSB Organization Chart</u>) This chart is updated annually during the department's budget process.